Tags

, , ,

Confession.  My dinner often consists of cold leftovers, eaten out of a Tupperware standing over the kitchen counter.  Or baby carrots and humus – out of the container, standing.  Rice cake and peanut butter – you get it.

The reasons why this happens are varied.  I get home too late to eat with my daughter and husband; I’m not hungry when my daughter eats at 5:30; I use dinnertime to workout; the list goes on. But the truth is since my daughter starting eating solids I have a difficult time getting her meal on the table and mine at the same time.  To be completely honest, I’m usually in an all out sprint to get something remotely healthy on the table and by the time she’s climbed up into her chair and her little mini version of whatever I’ve made is ready, mine isn’t on the plate yet and I just say screw it. I’ll eat later.

And while we are on the topic of remotely healthy: earlier this spring I served “breakfast for dinner” which consisted of rice krispies and bananas.  My daughter was giddy.  I was mortified and energetically praying that she didn’t tell anyone.  (Note: praying for your 3.5 year old to not reveal that mommy “let” her have what could only generously defined as breakfast for dinner DOES. NOT. WORK.)  However, was it actually a less healthy option than some pre made, sodium laden frozen dish?  Maybe in the absence of time and energy, I made a reasonable choice?

dinner!

Back in the land of the Tupperware and cereal, it’s stipulated that dinner with a 3.5 year old is just not an experience in fine dining.  Not that standing with a fork and a Tupperware over the kitchen counter is exactly haute cuisine. But I do get to eat uninterrupted, albeit often in the dark, alone (cue violins).  That said, sitting with my little girl while she’s eating is really delightful and the fact is I don’t mind doing so without the distraction of my own food.

Eating alone, late night – it’s like revisiting freshman year.  Also, when you’re the mother of a young child, you clean a lot of vomit off the floor.